Students
Options

I need your help,,,not sure about changing my name!!

Hey ladies!!
I am currently a teacher and pursuing a Masters of Science degree and continuing onto a PhD program. I want to keep a professional name aka my maiden name. But then I want to take his last name too. What do you suggest?? I do not want to hyphen. But I heard of a thing of having two last names, one professional and one for casual. Does anyone know how that works?? Please help ladies I have 3 months till my big day and graduation is coming fast so I need to know what name to put on my diploma!!

Re: I need your help,,,not sure about changing my name!!

• Options
    if you're not married before graduation, i'm pretty sure you'll still have your maiden name on your diploma. 

that being said, do you really want a bunch of strangers on a website voting on your last name?  do your last names work well together?  as in Sara (drop middle middle name) maiden name FI last name?  Do you want to continue to teach as Sara Last Name and socially be known as Sara FI last name.  Generally, I think people will address you as Mrs. Fi's last name, even if you don't legally change it. 

Are you published?  Also, wedding night is not the deadline for change your name. 

Professionally, especially since published, I will be Dr. Maiden Name, but I'm sure that people will call me Mrs. FI's last name.  Whether I "legally/officially" change that to Kris maiden name Fi's last name (and drop my middle name) I don't know.
  • Options

If I were you.  and you really want to keep your maiden name professionally I think I would not leagally change your name but just socially use his last name.  I think it would be a little more odd (and confusing) to officially change your last name but maintain your maiden name professionally.

Most likely your email will be tied to the name on your paperwork (legal name) and your papers should probably go under a legal name not a pseudo name.