Moms and Maids

How to keep mom calm

Hello,
My mom has been helping A LOT with the wedding. I'm a full-time student, and I definately appreciate the help. However, I've noticed that she's starting to get a little overwhelmed (she won't admit it though). How can I . How can I show her how much I appreciate all of her work. I don't have much money, but I don't want to seem ungrateful.
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: How to keep mom calm

• jagore08jagore08 member
    5 Love Its Combo Breaker First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Try help plan your own wedding.  I understand that it's a lot to do if you're a full time student but it's doable and this is your wedding afterall.  Give your mom a break.
    Ignorance is a poor defense. Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • utegogglesutegoggles member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I'm a full time student, work full time, and I managed to plan my own wedding.. Why don't you take the planning notebook from her and do it yourself.
  • edited December 2011

plan a date for the two of you at a spa and treat her to a day of pampering

• tseguintseguin member
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Learn to manage your time and take a load of stuff off your mom.  This is your wedding, not your mom's. You should be doing the majority of the work with your mom assistanting. If need be, ask your FI to help instead.
  • edited December 2011
    the problem with just jumping in and taking over is that your mom might be hurt by the intrusion even if she is feeling overwhelmed.

sit down with her and tell her what you have shared with us. "mom, i am so grateful for all of the effort you have put into this. i have noticed that you seem a little overwhelmed. i understand your desire to not give in, but please, let me help you so i can show you how much i appreciate all of your hard work by giving you a breather."
    Wedding Countdown Ticker