Second Weddings

Wedding for Domestic Partnerships

My partner and I are planning to have a "wedding".  We were both married before, he has a 9 year old daughter, I have no children and do not want to have any.I would like to do a big blowout to celebrate "us" and "our undying love and commitment" but we are both not into the idea of marriage.  I know this may sound strange.
I would like to get some feedback..... we filed for domestic partnership in August, and he bought me an engagement ring and wedding band in November.  We are calling it a marriage already even though we are not legally married. He refers to me as his wife, and I refer to him as my husband.  The domestic partnership does give us a lot of rights without having to answer to the church or the state.
Is it ok to throw a wedding even though it would not be a legally binding marriage?  I want to do the white (well, ivory LOL) gown and the flowers and everything.  I have no experience or knowledge of what the etiquette is on this.

Thank you!
Valentina

Re: Wedding for Domestic Partnerships

• BTW, we have been together for 5 years and living together for 4 years :-)
    Valentina
  • If you were a gay couple, and living in a state where marriage has not yet been legalized, I would say yes.

But I guess I don't understand why on earth you want to have the ceremony, the reception, the names, the rights and the responsibilities without actually getting married.  You are only not getting the license, right?  You still had to file paperwork with the state, so you aren't even avoiding that.  I don't understand, and I would bet your guests won't either.  Frankly, it sounds (to me) like you are looking to get presents.  Perhaps you can clarify for me? ~Donna