Wedding Cakes & Food Forum
Options

Cupcakes...How to Store/Serve Them

Instead of the traditional cake, my fiance and I have opted to do cupcakes. In order to save on costs, and since I love to bake, we have decided to make them ourselves. I figure this is also a good project for the two of us to do together. :) However, I have run into a problem. I want to bake them a week ahead of time and I would like to ice them a few days in advance as well. Does anyone have any good ideas on how I could store them so the icing won't get messed up? Also, if there was a pretty way to display them that you can think of that would be great! I was thinking of trying to find a way to use them as part of my centerpieces....any grand ideas?
Visit The Nest! Visit The Nest! Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Re: Cupcakes...How to Store/Serve Them

• Options
    cmp1986cmp1986 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I'm not a cupcake expert, but I would try and bake and frost them a couple days before and then store them in a fridge. You might want to invest in some cake boxes to store the cupcakes in. This way the frosting won't get messed up. I agree with Milkduds pictures. It's a very cute way to make them into centerpieces. Good luck!
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    Yup, do them as close to the wedding as possible. I make cakes for my kids birthdays all the time, and we usually bake the cake 2 days before and ice and decorate it the day before. It stays fine in the fridge but I think a week is pushing it. I know the leftover cake from the birthdays isn't so great after a week in the fridge.
    I'm a Mrs & My Honeymoon Memory
    imageimage
    Wedding Items For Sale
  • Options
    rascal17rascal17 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011