Second Weddings

Second Wedding - reception or go away??

Hi - this is my first time posting :)  So this will be my 2nd marriage and his first.  I am 28 and he is 32.  I have a 6 yr old son from my first marriage who lives with us.  We both have good jobs but recently bought a house, we dont have tons of money.  Neither of our parents will help pay for a wedding....so do we save and save to have a reception of ab 100 ppl or go away somewhere and get married just the two of us and invite our parents along?? HELP!! I wanted a reception with family and friends but not sure how we would ever save enough to do even a very scaled down reception and a honeymoon  Any advice would be wonderful!!

Re: Second Wedding - reception or go away??

• edited December 2011

If you think you are going to look back and regret not having the big wedding then save up and have it. If you think you can live without it, skip it.

I am getting married a second time, his first and last, and we decided to do a civil ceremony first with a re-do in October. It's working well for us. My sister is doing a destination wedding in March and basically having a casual party the week after they return. We are both in our 40's so we aren't really concerned about the rules (You can get away with a lot when you are old you know!). Ultimately you two are the only ones you need to please. How about a party at your new house with your family and closest friends? Or if there is a community clubhouse you could do it there.

Congrats and good luck!!

• handfast4mehandfast4me member
    5 Love Its First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011