Pre-wedding Parties
Options

Post Wedding Shower

My husband and I recently got married on June 19th while he was home on leave (he's a Marine). We found out that he only had a limited number of days for leave before he was going to deploy to Afghanistan......so, we decided to get married when he came home, which left us only 1.5 months to plan a wedding. Initially we were going to keep it super-small, but a quite a few friends insisted on coming. (Side note, we moved to Florida last August from Massachusetts, only for him to get order to Camp Pendelton in CA a few months later, in which I could not go). So, I then decided to have a small, but official 'wedding'. I did everything by myself and had a beautiful ceremony and brunch reception at the Crowne Plaza on the beach.
Because of the time constraints and the fact that almost everyone I know is in MA, with the exception of a few cousins here, I didn't have a shower.....NOR did I have a bachelorette as most of my friends could only get here Friday night (got married Saturday morning). I was planning on going up to MA in August and my older sister just suggested that I have a post wedding shower, as I didn't really get to do any bride stuff......and it wasn't by choice. She says that I deserve it as I still had a real wedding and she really thinks it's completely appropriate, considerring the circumstances.
A couple of very spoiled bride-friends of mine who had 'the works' last year said that it wasn't proper etiquette......but then again, neither is expecting your bridesmaids to spend $3000 on your wedding either.....so I guess I shouldn't really care what they think......
I just want to know, am I wrong for being excited about this? I really didn't feel like a bride at all during this whole thing......it was run, run, run, run and then goodbye my new husband...... should I just enjoy and ignore the haters?

Re: Post Wedding Shower

• Options
    trix1223trix1223 member
    5 Love Its Combo Breaker First Comment