South Asian Weddings

America - Punjabi blended wedding & reception

Hi!  I'm hoping some of you can give me a few ideas.  We are working towards a fall 2013 wedding and my groom to be is Punjabi and I'm american.  I want to blend both cultures into the ceremony and reception so that everyone can see aspects of their traditions in the event.  We are going to do ceremony and reception at traditional wedding venues, but I'm looking for some suggestions for attire, flowers, decor, etc - that will really make it a special event.  I'm just learning the Hindu cultures and don't have much experience with them - only have been to one Hindu wedding.  Any help you have is greatly apprecaited!!!

Thanks!
Lisa

Re: America - Punjabi blended wedding & reception

• Hi Lisa,

I'm also planning an interfaith wedding. My fiance is Jewish, and I'm Indian. We'll be incorporating both cultures into our event. In terms of attire, maybe you could wear a sari or other Indian outfit for a portion of the ceremony or the reception? You could also do a mendhi night (aka sangeet night, ladies' sangeet, etc.) where you can get your hands and feet decorated with henna. Flowers and decor are usually bold and colorful at Indian weddings, with lots of red and gold hues. There are no customary flowers that I am aware of, but roses always look nice. You coul do a jaimala ceremony where you each put flower garlands around each others necks. Decor is usually colorful and festive. Elephants are a common motif, as are paisleys.

This website may be of use to you: http://www.maharaniweddings.com/idea-gallery/

Best of luck in planning!!!
    Wedding Countdown Ticker