Wedding Hair, Makeup, & Beauty Forums

In need of makeup advice - MOH!!

Hi my name is Stefanie. Im 22 years old & just joined this website because my sister recently got engaged (Dec 22nd, not SO recent). The wedding is in september and i am the MOH. As part of my duties, i am trying to find an awesome and realitvely inexpensive makeup artist to do the makeup on the day of the wedding (and also trials) for me, my sister & my mother. I am from the Westchester County, NY area, and am looking for someone to do the makeup for three of us! If anyone could post anything about makeup artists that i should check out or that you have personal experience with, that would be GREATLY appreciated. (Im new at this and not sure of any makeup artists but would be willing to do some trails and see portfolios and hear about experiences). If you could all reply, that would be great! Thank you so much!!

Re: In need of makeup advice - MOH!!

• Hi Stefanie,

I am a makeup artist that specializes in bridal application in Houston, TX. There is a great amount of information on modelmayhem.com. It is a networking site I use to find work, but can also be utilized to find Photographers, MUAs, and Hair Stylists. You can search by profession and location and most artists will have a portfolio that you can view as well. Search a few MUAs and take the time to speak with them on the phone before booking/requesting a trial. This is one of the last people your sister will interact with before walking down the aisle and she should have someone that understands her vision. Schedule a trial, show them the photos, and let them show her what they think is best (of course with your suggestions as a guideline). After, you can see what you will look like on the big day and let the MUA know what you like/didn't like. Also, bring a camera along and take a photo so you can see how the makeup photographs.

I hope this helps and please feel free to contact me with any other questions!

Andrea N. Simmons