Wedding Cakes & Food Forum

I'm a cake baker and can't decide on my own cake flavors! lol

This is what I'm considering...today anyway, it could change tomorrow...

bottom tier...white chocolate cake with alternating layers of raspberry preserves and dark chocolate chambord ganache

Middle tier...spice cake with cream cheese and fig preserves OR apple spice cake with salted caramel buttercream

top tier... chocolate chip cake with Khalua mousse filling

What is everyone else doing? 

Re: I'm a cake baker and can't decide on my own cake flavors! lol

• We had cupcakes in flavors of lemon, strawberry, and amaretto. 

I vote the apple spice w/salted caramel buttercream for the middle if you're wondering. 
    What did you think would happen if you walked up to a group of internet strangers and told them to get shoehorned by their lady doc?~StageManager14
  • I think you should eliminate the ganache from the bottom tier.  That tier is the biggest, so I would try to make it appealing to more people.  Ganache is very rich, and doesn't appeal to a wider # of people. 

The middle sounds awesome, but I had the same flavors for my top tier, so I'm probably a bit biased. 
  • The spice cake with fig preserves and cream cheese frosting sounds amazeballs to me. I'd like a piece. Two actually. Now please?
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
    Daisypath Anniversary tickers
  • It sounds amazing, I would eat any of those flavors, but I agree that one layer should be a bit "plainer" do that people who aren't as adventorous have something familiar to eat.
  • I am sure all of those cakes would be great but I prefer a simple/plain cake, meaning give me a good piece of white cake or chocolate cake with a good buttercream frosting and I am one happy camper.

I would do a simple tier for those like me and then have some more interesting flavors for the other tiers.

• Wedding Cake Flavors:

Dulce De Leche

Caramel Cake

Dulce De Leche Whipped Creme

Caramel French Buttercream