Getting in Shape
Options

Getting into it

My fiance and I are getting married in June and I want to tone up a bit.  My problem is I'm a teacher, so I get up at 5:00 every morning and don't get home until between 5:30 and 6:00 in the evening.  I really want to get motivated to workout! I have bought the Bridalicous DVD set and everything.  But I am having a hard time getting motivated to stick with it and workout once I get home; I'm not a morning person, so morning workout is out.  I am such an instant gratification person, waiting for results is hard.  Any suggestions?

Re: Getting into it

• Options
    Hi and welcome!

It took me awhile to get into exercising on a regular basis too. For the instant gratification issue, I focus on the fact that even though I won't see results right away, I will feel so much better right after my work out. I also prefer kicking myself to get up and do something versus kicking myself as I'm laying down to go to bed because I didn't do anything. I'd suggest breaking up your exercise as xcaly suggested if you're having difficulties finding the time to exercise.
  • Options
    Have you tried joining a gym or another activity outside your home? I would never be able to work out at home. When I worked outside my house, coming home sent relaxation signals to my brain. I would no longer be motivated despite thinking I was while on my way home. Also when I get home I might see a billion things that need to be done and get distracted. Working out at a gym was the only thing that worked for me. Couldn't even stop home.
  • Options
    Ditto to everyone else.  I can say from doing the Bridalicious workouts, they are not bad time-wise at all.  The ones you start with are half an hour, and it's over before you know it- they go quickly.  I know it sounds like a lot, but it really isn't if you just pop it in and get to it.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker image

MyFitnessPal - Free Weight Loss Tools

• Options