Getting in Shape
Options

Question for Runners

Hi girls-

I am currently training for a 10k that I will run on May 11th.  I'm still a novice, I've run a few 5ks, but that's about it.  I am running 3 times per week and cross training 2 times per week.  My runs during the week are 3-4 miles, and my longer runs are Saturdays, this week will be 5 miles.  I feel like I'm doing ok, my pace is generally around the 9:30 per mile mark, give or take 5-10 seconds.

I have two questions:

When I'm running, my lower back tends to tighten up.  Do you have any thoughts or ideas on how to prevent that or ease the pain?

What are some effective tips for picking up my pace just a smidge?  I'd like to be closer to the 9 min mile mark by race day, I have a month to do it.  Is it a longer stride?  Faster steps? 

Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated!
Meddied since 6/15/13!

Re: Question for Runners

• Options
    For the lower back, I'd check your posture.  There are two likely culprits.  One is that you're not properly engaging your abs to stabilize your core, so the brunt of the stabilizing is falling to your lower back. 

If you're actively engaging your abs, your posture might suck.  I like this article about it: http://www.runnersworld.com/running-tips/perfect-form

The best way to increase your pace/speed is to do speed work.  Here is an article with a bunch of suggestions: http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/general/speedwork-for-every-runner/167.html

Everything the light touches is my kingdom.
  • Options
    Thanks for the links!  Much appreciated!
    Meddied since 6/15/13!
  • Options
    The abs are often to blame with lower back issues. Are you sucking in the tummy? When you don't keep your abs tight, you tend to let them stick out, which pushes your back forward, putting added pressure on your lower back! 
  • Options