Nebraska-Omaha

Information about living in Omaha? Help!

Hello Omaha knotties,

My fiancé may be accepting a job in Omaha and I just had a few questions.

1. What are some good suburbs/areas to live? Family oriented as my fiancé has a son.
2. What are good school districts in the area? I'm a teacher so I will be needing a job
3. Does anyone know teaching job prospects in the Omaha area? Here in Ohio it's so hard to find a teaching job so I'm kind of nervous!

Thanks for any input. I'm stressed now thinking about planning a wedding, moving, and job hunting now all this summer!

Re: Information about living in Omaha? Help!

• Although I do not know much about teaching jobs I believe they are pretty easy to come by. Hopefully someone else will comment on this as well.

Omaha really is a great area to live in and is one of the best cities to raise your kids: http://www.kiplinger.com/slideshow/real-estate/T006-S001-10-great-cities-to-raise-your-kids/index.html

I would say depending on your budget and housing one of the best school districts is District 66. It is obviously a little more expensive in terms of housing. Also if you want to go across the river into Iowa they have some great schools as well. Specifically the Lewis Central School District. Taxes and everything else tends to be cheaper in Iowa. Where I live in Council Bluffs, IA I am about a 5 minute drive to downtown Omaha. It is very convenient and you can get more house for your money as well. Sometimes Nebraska/Omaha people treat Council Bluffs like a read headed step child though. Similar to other cities I have seen though (Minneapolis/St. Paul and Kansas City, KS and Kansas City, MO)

Good luck! And I really hope he accepts it. Omaha really is a great area to live. :-)