February 2014 Weddings

BEYOND OVERWHELMED

Hi. I'm relatively new to The Knot. I stayed away for a long time because the notion of getting married (mostly the process of) makes me absolutely nauseous. I got engaged back in April and we are looking at Feb. 2014 for the date. We've agreed on the date (yay us!) but now comes the hard part; the planning.

First, a little background on myself. I'm 27 years old and never thought I'd be married. It just wasn't something that I ever made a big deal of. When he asked, I was THRILLED. This is a man that is my friend, my lover, my confidant, my everything. He's great all in all. BUT...I didn't think he was actually serious when he said he'd marry me one day, and definitely not as soon as he proposed. So, being the 27 year old woman that I am, I SHOULD have some sort of idea of where to start when planning a wedding, because, evidently, that's all any woman thinks about her entire life...except for me.

Overwhelmed is the under-statement of the century, I feel. There is SO much to do, and although I'd love to have a traditional wedding (including bridal party, engagement party and what-have-you), I just don't feel like I have the time OR the money for all that. I've been trying to think about it logically but anytime I think of everything that must be done for the day to go off without a hitch, my brain short circuits. Haywire.

What I have done:
Regarding invitations: I will design and print them myself (I figure it's cheaper and I'm pretty handy at photoshop)
Regarding wedding colors: We agreed on his and her colors; grey and turquoise.

What I haven't done:
Everything else.

I don't know that I can be helped, per se. I've recruited my aunt to help me sort it all out, but even so, I go cross eyed at the thought of it all.

I'm so scattered with it all, it's nauseating.

Re: BEYOND OVERWHELMED

• Welcome!