New Jersey - South
Options

WEDDING ON THE BEACH?? HAVE QUESTIONS,NEED ANSWERS!!!

Hello my name is Ashley and I have lived in cape may county my whole life, I am getting married May 2014 and we are still looking for a venue and possiblly a beach wedding. I am a chef by profession and I plan on catering my own wedding because, let face it Cape may venue want way to much money to cater an event and I am sorry I would be so upset having to shell out about 10,000 just for my food cost for 1 day, ugh the cheapest I have seen is 49.00 a head plus place tack on 2o% gratuity and 7% sales tax and that doesn't even include liquor!! Sorry my pockets aren't fat and I don't have someone paying my way. Any sorry to get off topic but I am looking for a budget of 5,000 that's my venue,food cost, and liquor. Thinking a beach wedding and having tents and chairs set up and having the food and liquor on the beach plus a dance floor. Anybody have any tips and price they would like to share? Thank you

Re: WEDDING ON THE BEACH?? HAVE QUESTIONS,NEED ANSWERS!!!

• Options
    First, I would call the town that you plan on having your wedding in.  You will need a permit to have your wedding on the beach and they may have many restrictions on the permit, like no tent or dance floor.  Of the beach weddings, I seen/been to, the ceremony only is held on the beach, the reception is elsewhere.  So before you get too far in your planning, start calling town clerks to see if its possible and what your permit fee would be.  Also, think about where your guests will use the bathroom.  Not all beaches have port-a-pottys, so you may end up having to rent one!

Depending on your guest list, you may be better off renting a big home on the beach/bay and having your wedding there.  You would still need a permit to have the ceremony on the beach.  There was a girl on this board who rented a huge home in Stone Harbor on the bay and had her wedding there.

Good luck in your planning!
  • Options