Wedding Cakes & Food Forum

any cake bakers out there need advice on design

so i am a cupcake baker me and cakes just dont work but i can take a cupcake fill it with something amazing pipe buttercream swirls or roses and make it look all blinged out.. 

for my wedding though its june of 2014 a summer beach themed. i like the ombre designs and i like the roses covering the whole cake my colors are teal/turqouise and silver. and my flowers are gerbera daisies but me and my sister will have baby roses in our buquets ( shes my moh)

i was thinking one tier covered in teal tourqouise and sliver
one tier in ombre with teal and ivory  ( color of my dress is ivory
and my last tier would be in ivory with a starfish a sand dollar and some various seashells 

need some advice from any professional cake bakers on the idea to much wont work 
thoughts

Re: any cake bakers out there need advice on design

• I'm a professional pastry chef, and wedding cakes as a whole are a lot of work. I'm trying to picture your design, and I can't really see it all working together in my head. I think I see the flow you're trying to get though! My advice would be to simplify your design to provide the cake with more overall flow. All ombre would look nice with a few beach themed items or flowers on the top tier or you could do a simple ivory icing or fondant with a cascade of gerbera daisies down the side or swirling across the cake. Another idea might be to do a simple ivory design on the tiers with ribbons on the bottom of the tiers in your wedding colors and a coordinating cluster of daisies on top. Roses would be nice too. The reason I suggest the daisies more than the roses though are for overall synergy to the rest of the ceremony/reception (and they're cheaper generally).