Snarky Brides
Options

Sad News- Wondering how to handle it

I'm fairly new on here (long time lurker thought) and am starting to post more often. I don't really where to put this so I decided on here. You ladies always have good advice.

Just this week my Mom got called into the Dr. early for results from a test (never a good sign). What we feared was true; she has endometrial cancer. We see the surgeon on Wed. and are expected a quick surgery date due to how progressive the cancer seemed in initial pathology. I'm a nurse and live with my parents right now so I plan on taking time off of work to be with her for the surgery/ recovery. My mom has a great attitude and is handling it well. I'm doing ok but am having my moments (crying in my FI sholder so I can be upbeat and positive for my mom later). My mom has been extra focused on the wedding planning the last few days (we're doing a lot of DIY early so its not stressful at the end). She says that she loves having the wedding to focus on to keep her happy, encouraged and distracted. I'm having a hard time focusing with her because all I want to do is focus on her. My Mom is much more important to me then finding the right DJ or whatever. I'm trying to figure out how to still work on the wedding (because she wants to). Just kinda lost.  When we work on wedding stuff in the back of my mind (or front of my mind) all I can think of is how terrified I am  that my Mom wont be there.

Thank you for reading. I think I just needed to vent a bit. When I do it with my loved ones in person it is much harder because I can see their sadness too and always start to cry. If anyone has advice or went through a similar situation during their own wedding planning I would love to hear your thoughts/ experiences. If you are of the praying kind, send one out for her. Thanks

Visit The Knot!

Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Sad News- Wondering how to handle it

• Options
    MobKazMobKaz member