Chit Chat

NWR: Work b.s. AAAHHHH

So long story short I got a job in my degree field (yay!). Pay isn't horrible and is more than what I was making at my last job. Today I found out that we (all the employees) will not be paid for 4 weeks because when my company took over the account we "missed the pay roll".

First off I am shocked and my 1st thought was if we "missed payroll" wouldn't it be 3 weeks until we get paid because we're supposed to be paid every two weeks. My thought is... wouldn't 4 weeks be 2 full pay periods? Maybe I'm not thinking that through because I'm so shocked.

Anyway, as if that was not sucky enough there's been talk about how our first 2 weeks will NOT be on that paycheck and we will NOT be paid for the first 2 weeks until we leave the company (either quit or get fired) and if that happens our first 2 weeks of pay would be at minimum wage per hour NOT what we're actually being paid. 

I asked my boss what day (such as August 23rd for example) our paycheck would come on and his response was "I will ask the payroll people. They told me the other day. Let me check I forgot. I will find out and I will let you know."

I am so shocked by this and it makes my head hurt (not litterally) thinking about it. I don't know what to do (if anything) and I needed to vent too. 

Re: NWR: Work b.s. AAAHHHH

• That sounds really sketchy. 
  • Call the Department of Labor. There is a federal one and your state probably has one also. It's against the law not to pay people.
  • Ditto Mercedes.  Call the Dept of Labor.  Something sounds weird.  So the company you worked for, bought out another company?  And that is why they missed payroll?  My company has bought out some smaller companies and they never had any issues getting our pay checks to us.