Destination Weddings Discussions
Options

Destination Wedding Jamaica VS Riviera Maya Mexico HELP!!!

Hello All! I am new to the Knot but am in need of desperate help with my destination wedding! I have been engaged for 8mths with a date set for July 2014! (Basically around the corner) I have decided on having a destination wedding at an all inclusive resort..the PROBLEM is that I can't decide on where to get married Jamaica or Mexico. I found out that I am very indecisive in selecting my wedding location. The resort chain I chose have locations in both Negril, Jamaica & Riviera Maya Mexico. Here's my issue: The Jamaica resort is a smaller resort so don't offer as many perk's as the large luxurious Mexican resort. The Jamaica Resort is 1 1/2 hrs away from the airport where as the Mexico resort is 20mins away from an airport. The wedding package is basically the same minus 3 accommodations at the Jamaican resort that is not offered there. The Only pro to the Jamaican resorts is that the marriage requirements are not as complex as in Mexico. In Mexico in order for it to be legalized the ceremony has to be performed by a judge in Spanish and then translated. I am a U.S citizen who doesn't speak Spanish. Also the arrival time is about 3 days before the wedding in Mexico which would take away from days used after the wedding for our honeymoon bc we are doing it all together. The question is do I take the hassle of the Mexican marriage requirements in order to have the best resort & full wedding package or go the simple route and have the wedding in Jamaica at a beautiful smaller resort????????? Please offer any opinions & help

Re: Destination Wedding Jamaica VS Riviera Maya Mexico HELP!!!

• Options