Favors
Options

suggestions for welcome gift at hotel

I have a few family members coming from out of town and they will be spending one night at a hotel after the wedding.  I'd like to give them a gift bag at check in.  I've never done this before so I need some suggestions.

One is a retired couple and the other is a family of four with teenagers.  Would it be appropriate to give a different kind of bag to each one since the two groups are so different?

Should I be practical with things that they might have forgotten like toiletries, bottles of water and snacks or should I go for things made locally like a bottle of wine from a local vineyard (for the senior couple)?   I'm not sure what would be most appreciated.  It is my fiancé's family so I don't know them really well.

Re: suggestions for welcome gift at hotel

• Options
    The night of the wedding is the only night they will be spending in the hotel?

If that is the case, I would probably suggest you do nothing or something very small.  By the time they return to the hotel room, all they will want to do is get some sleep.  

If the hotel does not offer complimentary breakfast, you could leave some muffins from a local bakery, along with some fruit juice.  
  • Options

Hmmm, you are right.  We will all be going out together for dinner that evening, so we don't need anything big.  The hotel does offer a complimentary breakfast so there is no issue there, though that was a good idea. 

I might do some snacks for the road since they will be driving back the next morning.  Thanks for the suggestion. 

• Options
    Since they're driving, they will be able to bring everything they need.

If I'm flying, though, I would always appreciate some beverages, as it's so challenging to bring liquids on the plane. Vitamin Water or Propel. Higher end bottled water like Fiji or Evian. (things not found in a vending machine).

You have good intentions, but nothing will be necessary.
  • Options
    jewely24jewely24 member