Catholic Weddings

Catholic-Destination Wedding Combo

Hi all! I'm new here and looking for some advice.

After throwing around ideas for a few weeks, and trying to squeeze a large guest list into a $10,000 budget, my fiancé and I decided that a "local" destination wedding suits us best. We live in Louisiana and are thinking about having it somewhere on the Gulf Coast or FL. In this way, people who really want to come can drive up and just make a weekend of it, but it will minimize our guest list to only our closest family and friends.

However, being that my fiancé and I are both Catholic, it is very important to us to have our ceremony performed in the church. (I just converted to Catholicism a couple of years ago, so please bear with me as I'm new to the rules of a Catholic wedding.) Any ideas/suggestions as to how we can combine the local destination and a Catholic ceremony?

We've previously thrown out the idea of doing a private ceremony at our church (with only our parents and siblings) before leaving for the beach, but I don't want to feel like we're having "2 weddings." Is it possible to go through pre marital counseling in our home parish, then have a Catholic ceremony in a church in FL?

Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions and advice! Happy planning to you!

Re: Catholic-Destination Wedding Combo

• It can be difficult to have a wedding at a parish you don't belong to, but it's doable.  Many churches prefer to marry members.  Do you have any connections in the area where you want to marry?  I would think your best bet would be to contact some churches to see if they'd even entertain this option.