Just Engaged and Proposals

Did you know it was coming?

So my BF and I have been talking about getting engaged and married for a few months now. Two weeks ago, he took me ring shopping and then later let it spill that he planned to buy my engagement ring with his tax check and even told me to expect a proposal by the end of March. No doubt I'm excited! I can't wait to marry him! I've already been surfing The Knot like crazy to get wedding ideas. But as excited as I am, I feel like there's no element of surprise because I know it's coming. Granted, I don't know EXACTLY when or how he's going to ask. I'm just curious: Did you know your FI was going to propose before he did? Do you think it's important for it to be a surprise?

Re: Did you know it was coming?

• ejones08ejones08 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    My FI and I had been talking about getting married for awhile.  We went ring shopping together, and he told me when he was going to take the diamond his mom gave him to get it set.  About a month later I figured out that he had the ring.  And knowing him I knew it would be soon after that.  But I was still surprised when he proposed.  Before he proposed I was starting to get upset that it wouldn't be a surprise.  My only regret is that in order to surprise me it wasn't as romantic as I had always pictured.
  • I'm in the same boat as you ashisu84. My BF and I have been talking about getting married for a while now, but no proposal. He asked me to pick out a ring setting and a stone cut, which I did. Now I've been waiting for the proposal. The other day he  made some comments that strongly suggested that he's going to propose. He said asked me if I have plans the following weekend and that he's going to do something that he's been wanting to do for a long time. I'm trying not to jump to conclusions and make expectations, just in case I'm wrong. But I'm pretty sure I'm right.