Registry and Gift Forum
Options

Be my cheap self on the registry or class it up a little?

So I'm an accountant and I have no problem calling myself cheap. I keep an excel spreadsheet of my credit card expenses and categorize them for cryin out loud. I've always been a bargain shopper my whole life, getting clothes on clearance or places like TJ Maxx/ Ross. I literally won't spend more than $20 on a shirt or $40 on pants. Don't get me wrong I'm not rocking Walmart clothes but I've gotten some $198 dress pants for $29 at TJ Maxx so I'm kind of anti-retail. I always get sticker shock when I see prices in places like Macy's. 
So I'm wondering- should I put things on the registry that I would buy for myself or do I put things that are nicer/more expensive because it's my one chance to get high end items? I feel like $20 for one dinner plate is outrageous but I feel like most guests aren't cheap like me and don't see a problem buying these items. I've seen people gift Kitchenaide stand mixers ($300) at showers and that's something I would never splurge on for myself. 
What do you think? 

Re: Be my cheap self on the registry or class it up a little?

• Options
    I get where you are coming from, but I think if you try to be your normal "cheap" self you will have trouble with your registry because most of the places you shop at have limited stock that rotates frequently.

Up front Macy's looks expensive, but they have frequent major sales and for those who have the Macy's credit card they get constant coupons for 20% off (usually 15% for home goods).  Most people who shop at Macy's know to wait for a sale.

Bed Bath & Beyond doesn't have sales, but they do have 20% off a single item coupons that are mailed out all the time.  Their non-coupon prices is usually around the same price as Macy's during a sale.

Crate & Barrel has nice items at a variety of price points (including some really inexpensive dishes that get great reviews).