Snarky Brides

I guess this is old hat to everyone but me?

I'm hoping you all can snap me out of my funk.  I'm marrying an incredible man, but we're both older.  I'm 37. Neither one of us has been married before.  Neither one of us has kids.  That being said, some of my friends have been wonderful, so I guess I really shouldn't complain, but several people have turned down our invite.  I went to all of their events.  Wedding, showers, kids' birthdays, recitals, sports events, etc...  I've been in several weddings and thrown several showers/bachelorette parties.  I just feel like I've been excited for them.  Why can't they be excited for me?  I know it seems like old hat to most everyone else now, but I've never done this before.  It's all new and exciting.  I get that things change and kids make it more difficult to be there for someone, but I'd just like a phone call or at least regret that someone can't make it.  Am I being too selfish or asking too much?  I'm just kind of sad that I'm not shown the same courtesy that I'd show for someone else.

Re: I guess this is old hat to everyone but me?

• You are being a little selfish, but not in the way you think: don't assume that if they can't come it's because they aren't happy for you! Invitations aren't tit for tat. It may well be that they are very happy for you, but something (budget, work schedule, childcare) makes it so they can't attend. It may be a situation that they aren't comfortable discussing, especially if they don't want to make you sad while you are busy being happy about getting married.

Don't assume that they don't care or don't want to be there. I'm sure your friends are happy for you, just sometimes life happens.

Just remember this: you have found the love of your life, and that's a reason to be happy. Find the little things in every day, even write them down if it helps, and just hold tight to those things so the other stuff doesn't get you down so much.
    Daisypath Anniversary tickers