Chit Chat
Options

NWR: Job offer... what to do?

I'll preface this by saying that obviously no one here can make this decision for me and that I have discussed - at length - both options with DH. He ultimately said we're fine either way, so the decision is totally mine to make. Cliffnotes at the bottom... didn't expect it to be so long.

I graduated last year with a degree in Special Education (K-12), but couldn't find a teaching job. Crappy. But I lucked into a full-time receptionist position at a job I'd previously filled in at over the last few years, so at least I have a job. Yay. It's been a crazy year of ups and downs here, with a lot of (needed) turnover in personnel, but we are finally at a good place. My bosses recognize how hard I've worked to get the shop where it is now and have given me a lot of latitude to do what I feel is in the best interest in the business in terms of the retail area, promos, etc. They also gave me a raise last fall, so I'm making a fairly competitive amount given the relative low-pay in the field. I love my job, even if it isn't what I went to school for.

Out of the blue last night, a previous boss texted me a job offer. It would be doing payroll and human resources for two car dealerships that he is the GM for. I previously worked for him as a salesperson and then as a billing and title clerk at two different dealerships. I loved working for and with him. It starts at the same pay I'm making now, and moves up an extra dollar per hour after 90 days. It also comes with insurance after 90 days (doesn't matter, as I'm on DH's plan which is phenomenal), paid vacation after 1 year (same thing at my current job), and a 401K after a year (no retirement plan where I am now). The owner of the auto group can be hard to work for... he has a reputation for high turnover, especially in under-performing dealerships. But I did well for the three years I worked for him previously.