Jewish Weddings

Need some advice

Hello ladies....this is my first time on this board but didn't know where else to go....I am not Jewish but FI's family is (FI doesn't consider himself Jewish now as an adult)...even before things got serious (6 yrs ago) I asked him if it would be an issue with his family if I wasn't Jewish and I didn't want to convert...he said absolutely not it would be fine and so we went with it....his family has always been accepting and we have been very close, I never saw a major issue..however in the back of my mind I always knew as things progressed it would be more and more of an issue....now with the wedding getting closer it has been very tense with his family...they know that it will be a non denominational ceremony and have been fine with that...however, the discussion was brought up about the ceremony and his mom mentioned that they were going to stand up with the bridal party...I had never heard of this and told her my parents weren't going to do that and that only my dad was walking me down the aisle..I was understanding to the fact that traditionally the mom and dad walk the groom down the aisle and that is fine...however, I really don't think they should stand there with us if my parents will  be sitting...my side of the guests will be confused and not understand why they are just standing there...I tried telling her it is a very small space and I am concerned that even the bridal party will be a little crowded...but she didn't buy that one....I guess I am asking, am I overreacting and should we be more patient with her or is she being stubborn about the whole thing...any words of encouragement would be great...

Re: Need some advice

• RedZeeRedZee member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011