Not Engaged Yet

gift ideas for a college graduate

edited April 2014 in Not Engaged Yet
H's cousin's GF is graduating from college in May.  I'd like to get her a gift instead of cash, but I'm struggling to think of something.  I wouldn't be opposed to a smaller gift and a little bit of cash, either... but I'd like to get her something that she'll either hold on to for a long time, or an experience she'll remember.  and, uh, I'm on a somewhat limited budget (maybe around $50?).  I remember when I graduated, I mostly received gifts around $25, with a few $50 thrown in and one or two larger gifts (from close family).  it's been a few years since I graduated, so please throw out any ideas!!

ETA:  she is planning on going to grad school, so I thought maybe a nice planner or something like that?  or am the only person in the world that would totally freak out at a gift like that??

http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lt0xxyGHcZ1qc9lhz.gif

Re: gift ideas for a college graduate

• LizzyTish88LizzyTish88 member
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Love Its Name Dropper
    edited April 2014
    I would think a planner or even a nice bag to carry books/laptop? I would think you could get something for under $50 that's cute. 

*Edited because I used the word "nice" 5 millions times. 
    friends tv show funy
  • @KeptInStitches - we are a no-alcohol group.  ;)  I think booze would work for just about any OTHER college grad!! 

@caseface5 - she was over this weekend so I could tutor her for her Piano I final, and she mentioned her backpack was broken... but I don't know if she is a backpack-only person, or a bag-person (I'm a bag person, myself!)
  • Dang!

A messenger bag that fits her laptop would be a good gift. Skip the planner - in my experience (STEM, your mileage may vary), most people don't use them.