Wedding Customs & Traditions Forum

Asking for permission

So my finace asked me to marry him last July (:D) only thing was when I finally told my parents about it (it was a few months after) they got upset because he didn't ask for my hand. Now the reason why we waited to tell my parents was because I had actually told my mom first, my dad was going through some financial problems under alot of stress so she said to wait to tell him. And then like I said when I did tell them they both were very upset that he didn't ask. My fiance thinks he shouldn't have to because he's marrying me not my parents. He has agreed to do it though for the sake of me and my family. And now almost every time I try to bring up the wedding with my parents it's like they aren't listening, they don't care, I'm still a college student so they think I should wait until after I graduate to plan and get married (which in a way I am). Also I've tried to talk to my mom about it and whenever it's just me and her talking about it she agrees with me and apologizes so on and so forth but when she's with my dad and I try she acts like it's so wrong and things like that just negative. Can I have some help please? How I am supposed to convince my parents to take my engagment seriously? Would my finace actually asking help?

Re: Asking for permission