Wedding Reception Forum

To All My Fellow Teachers!

Ladies, gentleman.... Really anyone who's a teacher....

I'm a recent college graduate looking for history teaching positions (which are about as illusive as unicorns in NJ) and planning my wedding for Summer, 2015. The venue and caterer that my FI and I are looking into have 2 available dates... A Friday in July and a Saturday in mid-August. I'm drawn to the Saturday date, because I know it's more convenient for friends and family, but I'm worried - how late is too late for a teacher to get married in August and expect to go on at least a week-long honeymoon?

Opinions please! And the sooner the better!

Re: To All My Fellow Teachers!

• mysticlmysticl member
    First Anniversary First Answer First Comment 5 Love Its
    That's really going to depend on the calendar for the school district you will be working in and how many days before the start of the term you will be required to start.  For example in the district where I currently live school started in mid-August this year and the teachers had to be in the week before that.  Whereas some districts don't start back till after Labor day.  I also know that at least some districts require the new teachers to start before the returning ones.  
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Yeah, it will all depend on your district. Keep in mind that most districts require new teachers to participate in week-long new teacher orientation followed by another week of inservice for the entire district faculty and then school begins the following week.
    What did you think would happen if you walked up to a group of internet strangers and told them to get shoehorned by their lady doc?~StageManager14
  • KatWAGKatWAG member
    First Anniversary First Answer First Comment 5 Love Its
    It depends on the district. If you really like the date and the venue, why not go on your HM over fall/ winter/ spring break?
    BabyFruit Ticker
  • KatWAG said: