Moms and Maids

ann9815ann9815 member
edited June 2014 in Moms and Maids

Re: .

• Well, I haven't yet experienced this in regards to a wedding, but I just had to tell my parents that I can't be "available" for certain kinds of family and personal things due to being forced to move right after tax season (I work as a tax accountant) as well as major freelance projects with fussy clients and 50 hours of CPE that has to be earned by September 30, so I'm feeling very overburdened right now.

My dad at least understood that.  Hopefully my mom will too.

I know this doesn't sound encouraging, but it sounds like nothing you say to your FMIL will make her understand your need for her to leave you alone.  How has your FI been about running interference for you with her or otherwise having your back?  If he's been helpful, can you ask him to help you set and maintain boundaries with his mother, which would include respecting your schedule and needs and not issuing any further demands or complaints to you regarding your wedding?  If he isn't helpful, you may have bigger problems than your FMIL. 

One thing I would keep in mind though:  Nobody is required to be as excited for you about your wedding as you are...not even your FMIL.  You are certainly entitled to respect and understanding about your wedding and your needs, but you are not entitled to have your FMIL treat this time as "Bride and Groom are supposed to be honored and highlighted."  As the regulars all say here, you're entitled to one day for your wedding.  It's not rude of your FMIL to want you to be available for another day close to your wedding.
  • There is a word that you need to start using in certain situations.  And that word is 'no.'