Getting in Shape

Protein Shakes

I am just starting out this week and discovered today after logging all my food and working out that I need a way to boost my food intake. I am thinking that protein shake might be a good idea, especially on days that I work out. Does anyone have a good shake to suggest?

Re: Protein Shakes

• i like to make my own off of this site:  http://greenmonstermovement.com/  and then I add extra flax or chia seed.

My favorite is a peanut butter and banana one.  I have that recipe on my blog if you just search "smoothie"
  • Unless you plan on pumping some serious weights or running a marathon, protein shakes are not a great way to lose weight. If anything, they actually make you GAIN weight! Try this instead: skim milk, greek yogurt plain non fat, frozen fruit no sugar added, and orange juice from a real orange, and ice. Blend in a blender and drink for breakfast. I did this along with eating a healthy mix of veggies, lean meats and whole grains i n moderation and lost 15 pounds in 4 months, along with 1 hr of cardio and weights 5 days a week. Get into a good eating and workout routine and you'll do great. But def stay away from protein power and protein shakes!
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • This is the first time I've heard someone say that protein isn't the way to go. My understanding is that you need more protein when you are active and looking to lose weight, because if you're doing any sort of weight training additional protein helps rebuild/repair muscles.

I used SIx Star (I think that's what it was called) mixed with some 1% milk and ice.

Anna, have you had success with chia? I've tried it and found it messes with my digestive track in a major way (and not for the better).
    Wedding Countdown Ticker