October 2014 Weddings
Options

I don't know how to handle this...

So RSVP date is today. Last night I get a text from my uncle who lives in FL - I'm in CT. He tells me he sent his RSVP back earlier in the week and apologized for it being so close to the RSVP. Then he tells me how many are attending and meals. I only invited him and my Aunt. He tells me 1 chicken 4 beef so he is bring his 3 sons (my cousins). Who I have never met. The youngest is a senior in high school. I didnt invite them since I figured 2 days home alone is not a big deal. I have only seen my Uncle a handful of times in my adult life. The first time I saw him ince I was a toddler was my freshman year of college. I really only invited him to be respectful. I didn't think he would come. My older sister didn't even bother. Now I am stuck in this situation as to let it slide or speak up. We are paying for a majority of the wedding ourselves. I'm stuck.

Re: I don't know how to handle this...

• Options
    PepperallyPepperally member
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Love Its Name Dropper
    edited September 2014

I guess you just need to be honest and say "I'm sorry but we have limited space and the invitation did not include children."  I wouldn't worry too much about it since you aren't that close with him.  I know it's awkward as hell but unless you plan on accommodating his whole family, you just need to be very honest about it. 

Ok, also thought of this:  This is the brother of either your mom or dad...could they help facilitate the conversation so you don't have to?    I just thought, if it were me and it was my mom's brother, for instance, I'd ask her to talk to him and explain that his kids aren't invited.  she knows him better that I do.  I guess it depends on your situation but I may try that route if it were me (because I don't have close relationships with most of my aunts and uncles so I understand the awkwardness).

• Options