Chit Chat

Feeling guilty about any NWR expenditure

Anyone else reach this point in the wedding planning process? I'm just starting out with my plans, have a vague idea of how much things around here will cost, and have started socking money away every paycheck so we can afford a halfway decent wedding next year. I've got a spreadsheet and everything to track our actual and projected savings and am confident we can stick to the plan. The only thing is that I'd love to save more. That extra cushion would make me feel so much better when those unexpected wedding expenses will undoubtedly arise. Now every time I want to buy something/go somewhere/do something that will cost money, I shy away from it because I think, "That's X amount of dollars that could go to the wedding fund instead." 

Going to my cousin's wedding, which will count as a fun vacation this summer? There's $2k that could go into our wedding fund instead! That cute sweater at Target that would be a great addition to my wardrobe since my fat ass has grown out of most of my existing clothes? That's $20 that could go into savings instead. Friends want to go out bowling? That's $40 wasted. It probably doesn't help that usual life expenses like car repair and needing a new mattress have cropped up and gotten in the way. Damn you, life!

I suspect I'm going a little overboard with this, but I was raised never to go into debt for something other than a house, so I don't plan to start now with a wedding. Our finances are tight enough that we don't have a whole lot of disposable income once the bills are paid and money is put into savings (both for the wedding and the rainy day fund), so I do need to watch what we spend. That said, perhaps I need to loosen up a bit for my own sanity! Anyone else hit this roadblock?

Re: Feeling guilty about any NWR expenditure