Registry and Gift Forum

Parents Gifts

So this is my first time posting on this website, be easy on me.

Im trying to figure out parents gifts and am running into an issue with my future in laws. They do not come from very much money (and that is perfectly ok!) and so chipping in for wedding has not even been a discussion. My fiance and I are footing the bill for the whole rehearsal dinner, my FMIL's dress for the wedding, my FFIL tux for the wedding, hotels and car rentals. The $$$$ are adding up. Because of this, I am having a hard time spending the same amount of money on my future in laws as I do with my parents that have really gone above and beyond for the wedding. What do I do???

I have a hard time talking about this with my fiance because he feels really bad for us having to cover costs for his parents.

Re: Parents Gifts

• So this is my first time posting on this website, be easy on me.

Im trying to figure out parents gifts and am running into an issue with my future in laws. They do not come from very much money (and that is perfectly ok!) and so chipping in for wedding has not even been a discussion. My fiance and I are footing the bill for the whole rehearsal dinner, my FMIL's dress for the wedding, my FFIL tux for the wedding, hotels and car rentals. The $$$$ are adding up. Because of this, I am having a hard time spending the same amount of money on my future in laws as I do with my parents that have really gone above and beyond for the wedding. What do I do???

I have a hard time talking about this with my fiance because he feels really bad for us having to cover costs for his parents.
    So you want to punish your in-laws because they aren't in a position to give you money? That's pretty much what you're saying here. That they don't deserve nice gifts because you aren't benefiting from them. I think you're having a hard time talking to your FI about it because it's a shitty thing to think/do.