Chit Chat

Personal Finance

I've been wanting to ask this for a while, but I'm hesitant because I know it's personal and people don't like to talk about money. But I'm wondering if people have books, people, places, etc., they go for advice about how much to save, what accounts to save in, how much to put towards certain things and in what ways (like, use a certain type of savings account for saving for the wedding, a different type for a house or something longer term).

I never learned anything about money and when I graduated law school and moved in with FI, I realized I was at a total loss as to how to adult in this way. I was unemployed with a lot of debt and FI had another year of medical school to go. My parents were never good about money - my mom always wanted to own the nicest things and my dad never wanted her to spend money, plus he couldn't hold down a job (they divorced after thirty years of marriage) - and they never sat down and explained how credit cards, loans, savings accounts, the stock market, literally anything works.

So I asked around and the book Young, Broke, and Fabulous by Suze Orman and The Millionaire Next Door were both recommended to me. I read them and they were truly helpful. I learned about 401(k)s and Roths and such, and once I got a job, I was able to make intelligent decisions about those things.