Attire & Accessories Forum

Adding straps to sweetheart dress?

I think I found my dress! It has everything I want AND is in budget! The only problem is, it's strapless, and with my chest I really prefer the extra support. The retailer says straps can be added no problem, but I'm not sure what straps would look best with the dress since I'm not a designer. Any suggestions?

Here's the dress: http://i0.wp.com/weddingoutlet.com.au/wp-content/uploads/products_img/elenora-ruffle-wedding-dress-online.jpg?fit=338,560

Re: Adding straps to sweetheart dress?

• A strapless dress is self supporting, so you can have any kind of straps you want.  Anything from rhinestone embellished to plain satin, depending on your taste.  What a lovely dress!  Since it has no lace, I wouldn't add lace straps.
    My daughter refused to wear a strapless dress, too.  That was difficult in 2011.  We went into one shop that didn't have any dresses that were not strapless!  We did finally find one she loved, though.
    httpiimgurcomTCCjW0wjpg
  • I think I found my dress! It has everything I want AND is in budget! The only problem is, it's strapless, and with my chest I really prefer the extra support. The retailer says straps can be added no problem, but I'm not sure what straps would look best with the dress since I'm not a designer. Any suggestions?

Here's the dress: http://i0.wp.com/weddingoutlet.com.au/wp-content/uploads/products_img/elenora-ruffle-wedding-dress-online.jpg?fit=338,560

That dress is gorgeous!!!  I will ask if you tried it on yet...as many people find dresses they like online, but once they wear it change their minds.

I think a simple strap is best, something wide enough that you are comfortable with and just match the fabric color and type. 

CMGragain said:
    A strapless dress is self supporting, so you can have any kind of straps you want.