Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Wedding registry, baby registry, housewarming registry...

And now graduation registry! This post is from a former coworker who is an event planner. She's promoting "dorm parties" with registries so that everyone can help buy grads their sheets and towels.

Thoughts?

Daisypath Anniversary tickers

Re: Wedding registry, baby registry, housewarming registry...

• Options
    I think that it can pave the road to hell.

But I know that after I graduated, people did get me stuff for my dorm and luckily there were no duplicates.   

It seems to be more of a "problem" in search of a solution but I do understand that a post HS grad party is a time that the graduate might get stuff for the dorm room. 
  • Options
    I mostly got cash for graduation - I don't think I got any boxed gifts, actually! My mom bought one of those "dorm boxes" - it came from an ad that might have been included with our class ring stuff, or maybe our cap/gown supplier. You got to pick your colors/pattern and it had sheets, towels, some basic kitchen stuff, school supplies, etc. I am pretty sure it cost like $400 or something crazy!
  • Options
    Our graduation was at the end of our Grade 12 year and we had another year of high school left so most of us didn't get "Grad Presents" or "Grad Parties". Kids up here take a gap year, so they don't really do "Grad Parties". I don't know if it will really catch on. 
  • Options
    I mostly got cash for graduation - I don't think I got any boxed gifts, actually! My mom bought one of those "dorm boxes" - it came from an ad that might have been included with our class ring stuff, or maybe our cap/gown supplier. You got to pick your colors/pattern and it had sheets, towels, some basic kitchen stuff, school supplies, etc. I am pretty sure it cost like $400 or something crazy!