Chit Chat
Options

NWR: Anyone here in HR & willing to give advice?

I am a licensed mental health therapist but I'm burned out with this field. I've always had an interest in the HR field but don't know where to begin. I'm hoping someone here has some advice. 
--Is HR a career field I can easily find a job in? 
--What kind of salary could I expect? 
--I already have a masters degree in counseling psychology. Would you recommend that I earn an associate, bachelor, or masters degree in HR? 
--Are online HR degrees looked down upon in the field? 

Thanks in advance. 

Re: NWR: Anyone here in HR & willing to give advice?

• Options

I can't answer all your questions but I work closely with my HR and I think that the HR world can be really different depending on what environment you are working in. HR dealing with unions vs. HR dealing with small companies vs. HR dealing with large companies.

I think people skills is really important but not just in person people skills. A lot of the HR folks I know do everything over the phone.

• Options
    kvrunskvruns member
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Love Its First Answer
    I wouldn't look at getting a degree in HR when you already have a masters. Let alone when it isn't something you've tried before.  If anything your current Masters might be good because it would show you have the people skills needed. On a resume I'd beef up administrative work you've done  and also skills that translate - confidentiality, time management, paperwork/case files etc

As PP said, there are so many types of "HR". In a small company working HR could mean doing employee relations, recruitment, payroll, benefits, etc in other companies you might just specialize in recruitment or benefits or some other facet of the job. 

Do some estimates on glassdoor or salary.com to see what different HR jobs in your area are paying. Although even those things I take with a grain of salt. 
  • Options