Pre-wedding Parties

Rehearsal Dinner Advice

I'm not very experienced in the in and outs of rehearsal dinners.

Our venue is about an hour and half away from us, its beautiful, but we're not planning on having our rehearsal there.

That being said:

1) I know rehearsal dinners usually take place the night before. We don't want that stress. Would it be inappropriate to have it the weekend before possibly? This might not work because a couple people are from out of town.

2) Has anyone ever heard of or been to a rehearsal that takes place wherever we are having dinner at?

I'm thinking of renting a party room at a restaurant to rehearse and have dinner at.  Any advice or ideas on this? Is it tacky? At this point, we are really looking for simple and casual. What could get more casual than this? Thanks in advance.

Re: Rehearsal Dinner Advice

• If you're going to have a RD, it should take place the night before. RDs don't have to be stressful or complicated. It can be as simple as ordering pizzas, chips, and soda. 
  • It's more than possible that you don't need to rehearse but if you do, it's best to do it in a timeframe that works best for you and your guests.   Often that's the night before.

FWIW, I think the tradition of doing it the night before is often the best way to handle the end of the stress.   You've been planning and it's done.   Now you get to do a walk through and relax with food and wine! 
  • My friends were married by another friend who had been ordained.  Their officiant was a nurse and could not get off for the night of their intended rehearsal.  So they met with him a few nights before that and went over their ceremony with him.  So technically, they didn't need to have any other rehearsals or a dinner the night before.  They still did have a dinner, but it was more of a welcome dinner since almost the entire groom's side was OOT and they were all there as well.