A newbie recently requested that her account be deleted. When it was deleted, by an administrator, the thread that she started was auto-deleted. If she had posts in other threads (she didn't), they would remain, with her screen name changed to 'deleted user.'
It will be a cold day in hell before I delete a thread. Promise.
edit - grammar