Wedding Woes
Options

Call me by my name

Dear Prudence,

In general I have a great relationship with my mother. We are very close, she’s mostly very supportive, and currently I live with her while I get on my feet after some big life changes. I am nonbinary, and I’ve been out since I was 19 and out as bisexual since 16. My mother, despite being a very religious woman, is supportive if disconnected from it. She’s attended our local Pride parade once at my request and had a good time, but we don’t really talk about it. What bothers me is she doesn’t really accept my name change. When I came out as nonbinary I tried one name for about eight months before switching to my current name, which I’ve been using for three years and will likely use for the rest of my life. She calls me by this name but has made it clear I hurt her by changing my name. When people gush over my name (it’s unique and pairs in a really funny way with my last name), she will interject, “Well, their real name is [Redacted].” And it makes me intensely uncomfortable and unhappy. How do I talk to her about this? She feels hurt because I’m “rejecting” the name she picked when I was born. I just don’t connect to that name, it makes me very uncomfortable to be called it, and it makes me feel small and ashamed.

—New Name

Re: Call me by my name

• Options
    Tell her how it makes you feel. Ask her why she insists on calling you by a name you’ve asked not to be called. It sounds like she is supportive so I think bringing this up to her might be helpful. If not I’d keep correcting her and others as to your name. 
  • Options
    Use your words. Tell her why you find it hurtful that she insists on pointing out the name you were given at birth. I'd also explain exactly why you changed your name, as I suspect she doesn't fully understand. Her being supportive needs to include accepting that you changed your name and that you had the right to do so. 
  • Options