Wedding Woes
Options

You can make it stop by no longer participating in any planning.

Dear Prudence,

My cousin, Sarah has decided to name me her Maid of Honor (MOH). She’s been talking about her wedding since we were kids and how I’d always be her MOH. We were raised as sisters rather than cousins. I love her and value her unconditionally. We also live on opposite sides of the country. She’s planning on having the wedding in my city.

Here’s the problem: Sarah and my entire family were working under the impression that I’d plan her entire wedding, mind you I’m not a wedding planner by trade nor do I enjoy planning events. I know I’ve been the rock for my family and dependable, but I’ve been pretty malleable as of late. I invited her to consider hiring a wedding planner as she had no intentions of planning her own wedding. I thought we compromised with her hiring one, and I’d work with them alongside her mom in my city to get all the face to face elements done to save her trips. For context as to why I recommended a wedding planner, at the time she didn’t have a vision, number of guests, ceremony and location (church, banquet halls, lakeside, go to court, etc.).