New Jersey
Options

Budget Wedding in North Jersey

Hi everyone, 
I am new to the knot, just engaged last week. While I'm so excited I confess that I'm quite worried about the cost of a wedding, especially one in North Jersey. I was hoping to do 100 people or less, at $20k or less. I was looking at alternative spaces - the Loew's Theater in Jersey City, the Women's Club in Ridgewood, maybe the NJPAC or something like that. I don't mind having a buffet meal, creating my own center pieces, hiring a photographer who's a student or does it on the side, don't plan on videographer...wondering if anyone has advice on venues/caterers or anything like that.

Thank you all in advance for your help. You're so kind to take the time. 

Re: Budget Wedding in North Jersey

• Options
    20k for 100 people is absolutely possible!  You probably don't even have to look at "alternative" spaces if that's not what you wanted.  Have you considered off peak months?  That's what we did and we were able to save more.  If you are really flexible, you could consider Friday or Sunday or an afternoon wedding and save even more!
  • Options
    Ours was less than $20k, including everything (centerpieces, programs, invites, etc) with 120 people. DIY helped a lot too! It's definitely doable, and you don't necessarily have to look in to alternative places just because of the price (a lot of times the alternative venues end up costing more because you usually have to start from scratch and bring everything in from linens to staff to food and drinks). Also agree with above poster, off months and days can save you a lot of money. By moving our wedding one week up (in August instead of the first week of September that we originally planned). We saved $5 per person, which is a lot when ou have 120 people. You can also save by doing it on an off day, like Friday or Sunday. Best of luck to you!
  • Options