New Hampshire
Options

Musician and DJ for the cocktail hour?

Hi ladies,

So we have decided to have a pianist (with a keyboard since I don't think there is a piano in my venue) for our on-site ceremony and cocktail hour and a DJ for our reception. But now that I'm thinking about it I'm wondering if we should have both the DJ and the musician during the cocktail hour, since the musician will be stationed outside and the DJ will be inside. My two main concerns with this are:

1. We'll have to pay extra for the DJ
2. I'm worried that the music from DJ and the musician will "overlap" and not sound that good.

Any suggestions???
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Musician and DJ for the cocktail hour?

• Options
    As a wedding musician, I would freak out if I could hear the DJ playing in the room next to me.  It sounds terrible to have music clash.  Why would you have the DJ playing in the reception room during cocktail hour?  Is the cocktail hour in the reception room or in another space?  Musicians, especially just a keyboard, can move from your ceremony space to your cocktail hour space within a matter of minutes.

May 2013 February Siggy: Invitations

Wedding Countdown Ticker

• Options
    edited May 2012