Chit Chat
Options

Advice from experience

Re: Advice from experience

• Options

I have poked myself in the eye with string cheese on two different occasions. But I didn't learn a damn thing.

hahahaha omg that's like me putting stuff on hot cooktops...never seem to learn!

• Options

sarahufl said:

sarahufl said:

KatWAG said:
    I don't! My in-state, public bachelor's and master's degrees are long since paid off. I now manage a graduate program at an ivy league and I see the debt these folks are absolutely drowning in.

I make more money than they will when they graduate.
    I'm an in-state university grad, too, but I think where I disagree with the advice above is in its unilateral certainty. State schools are right for a lot of people; Ivies are right for a lot of people; tiny liberal arts schools are right for a lot of people; community college is right for a lot of people. 

And frankly, I hate the idea that college is meant to be job training. I realize that we live in a world that pushes that notion, but a liberal arts education was never meant to train you to do X thing. It's meant to teach you to think critically, make connections, and be a thoughtful, informed citizen. Schools of all stripes can offer this kind of education.

As usual, you are correct :)

But I do think more people need to think more critically about how much debt they are going into. It isn't sensible to be 22 and thousands and thousands in debt for a fine arts degree. I meet so many people who can't afford homes or vacations or basic necessities because they wanted to go to a college they couldn't afford. As @magicink says above, free community college! Awesome! That is a smart financial decision to make.

Different schools suit different people, no doubt. That is why there are thousands of colleges in the US. But being debt free is so much fun.
    Totally agree with the bolded.