Moms and Maids

Info on showers for the bride?

I'm a bridesmaid in a close friend's April wedding.  I and most of the other maids live in the same city as the bride, but her maid of honor lives on the other side of the country.  None of us (the bridesmaids) know each other very well, and so far there isn't a lot of coordination or communication between the group of us.  It's my first time being a bridesmaid, and I was married 11 years ago, so I'm not sure if it's just that trends have changed since I got married, or if there's a ball being dropped here... 

My question is, how many showers are typically given for the bride now?  When I got married, I was given a lingerie shower, a housewares shower, a stock the bar shower, and a bridal shower.  I've tried searching online and when I find articles on "bridesmaid duties" they only mention the bridal shower - so have multiple showers fallen out of fashion?  And if there is only a bridal shower given now, when is it typically held, and who usually hosts it?  

The wedding is about a month and a half away and none of the other girls have mentioned planning any showers, I haven't received any invitations, and I'm wondering if I should plan something myself.  I just want to make sure that my friend doesn't miss out on anything, but I don't want to step on any toes by contacting the others and asking the wrong question.

Thanks for any input!

Re: Info on showers for the bride?

• ShannonH said:

I'm a bridesmaid in a close friend's April wedding.  I and most of the other maids live in the same city as the bride, but her maid of honor lives on the other side of the country.  None of us (the bridesmaids) know each other very well, and so far there isn't a lot of coordination or communication between the group of us.  It's my first time being a bridesmaid, and I was married 11 years ago, so I'm not sure if it's just that trends have changed since I got married, or if there's a ball being dropped here...