Wedding Reception Forum
Options

New Years Eve Wedding 2014

Hi everyone!!
This is my first time posting on this website, very excited to be making wedding plans :)
I am from North Carolina, getting married this NYE!! I know it falls on a Wednesday but I really don't care. Sorry if that comes off as rude, I don't mean for it to! Its just that the people who mean the most to us will be able to make it, and after that anyone in attendance can only add to the fun! The next day is a national holiday, our student siblings and teacher friends don't have conflicts, and our out-of-towners will now be in town for the holidays. Right now it sounds like a win-win situation, but I will let you know when things start to blow up in my face haha
I mostly have questions about the reception--Chris and I are having a relatively small wedding (largely due to the fact that my church is small && my family is enormous--its a gift and a curse!) and having a big party for a reception where we can invite a lot more of our friends, dance the night away, eat drink && be married :) as of now we are thinking 7:00 candlelight ceremony, reception from 8-??
 (1) What time should the reception end? Obviously we want to ring in the new year with everyone & have a blast, should Chris and I depart shortly after the countdown and let our guests boogey on down a little longer? Should we do the whole sparkler exit around 12:30 and our guests follow behind, leaving the place totally empty by 1am? Time and space rental is not an issue, we have the place as long as we like. 
 (2) Do you think asking people to stay until midnight or longer will be an issue? If it were me personally and I were invited to a NYE party and staying for the countdown was not an option, I would be a little disappointed. But hey, not everyone thinks like me. I don't want my guests to feel exhausted and obligated to stay.