Hawaii

Kauai or Maui Help

I am totally new to this and a bit overwhelmed.  
We are looking at Maui (Wailea or Lahaina) or Kauai (Poipu) for March 2015.  There is so much information on-line and I keep going in circles.  Does anyone have any tips or suggestions for either island?  There will be between 20 and 30 guests.  
Cheers!

Re: Kauai or Maui Help

• luckycoconutluckycoconut member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited May 2014
  • Hi Kimberly!  I can probably help with some suggestions for Maui - we took a trip to visit my family on Oahu in December and stopped over on Maui as well to check out some venues.  We picked Olowalu Plantation House for our wedding in October but seriously considered Sugar Beach Estate in Kihei.  We also looked at Merriman's, Sugarman Estate and Makena Resort.  All were beautiful but ultimately we liked the privacy and setting at Olowalu, as well as the ability to make it our own.  I would probably narrow down your list based on the type of setting you picture for your big day - estate vs. resort vs. restaurant.  If you'd rather not deal with a lot of the logistics (or hire a wedding coordinator to do it for you), then resort or restaurant is probably easier.  Hope this helps!
  • I'm originally from Kauai, in Poipu check out the Grand Hyatt Kauai. My sister had her (first) wedding ceremony there and I'm possibly attending another one there in the summer, it is beautiful. I was in my sister's wedding and I remember it was seamless, didn't have people from the hotel wandering into your wedding, an overall good experience. She splurged on the ceremony and then had the reception at a bigger venue (a neighborhood center) because we have a huge family. The Sheraton Kauai resort is also very nice . The two are the major resort hotels in Poipu and both are gorgeous. Start there. 

• Awesome.  Thanks for the suggestions!
  • Let us know what you find out or decide on! :-)