Wedding Reception Forum
Options

To Destination Wedding or Not To Destination Wedding...

So my fiancé and I have been trying to plan our wedding, and we have a lot of different ideas. The major one that keep coming up is destination wedding. Both of us love the idea of getting married somewhere away from our insane lives and like the low key and guest friendly (well sort of) aspect of everyone getting in on the vacation. We've looked at a lot of local venues and even though we keep dismissing the far away idea, it keeps coming back. 

Let me give you some background on us and our guests so you know why this is such an issue. 
We live in Pennsylvania. I met my fiance shortly before I graduated from college in North Carolina and we moved up shortly after. Our family and friends are EXTREMELY far flung. His parents are in NC while most of his family lives in upstate New York. My parents are from Pennsylvania, and half my family lives here and the other half are in California. Most of our friends are in North Carolina, but we have some (including the best man) that live in PA too. 

So we thought that since people would be travelling anyway, why not go somewhere awesome. Now, I know there is a big difference between an eight hour drive and a plane flight to the Caribbean. But I can tell you, that in our four years here, only two of our Southern pals have made the effort to drive up and visit, though we go  down there at least once every six months. So I'm not sure that they would even attend a wedding in PA if we had it locally. So, I'm caught. Do I have my wedding for my guests, who may or may not come to a local place, or do I throw out an offer for a very small number to follow us to an exotic locale?

Thoughts?

Re: To Destination Wedding or Not To Destination Wedding...

• Options
    Well there is a bunch of things to consider with a DW: