Wedding Etiquette Forum

Should I ask if I'm invited?

kayjayemkayjayem member
First Anniversary First Comment
edited May 2014 in Wedding Etiquette Forum
One of my coworkers is getting married on May 31st.

I assumed that I wasn't invited to the wedding (which is totally fine!) when I heard about other coworkers receiving their invitations and I hadn't received one. She asked me for my address a couple weeks ago, but since I haven't gotten anything, I just thought it was for some other reason. In the mail today though, I got an invitation to her bachelorette party and bridal shower.

Should I ask her about it? Or just continue waiting it out to see if she asks me about a lack of RSVP? I would never want to make her feel awkward or put her in a stressful position. What would you guys suggest?

Re: Should I ask if I'm invited?

• waiting I guess.

If no invitation comes, I certainly would NOT go to the bacheloretter party or bridal shower as THAT is gift grabby if you never getn an invite
  • MoiramabMoiramab member
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Love Its Name Dropper
    edited May 2014
    I would wait it out.

I made the regretful decision of asking my friend at her bridal shower (which I had received an invite for) after confirming with my mom she had gotten a wedding invite. In hindsight it looked like I cornered her and I kick myself every time I think of it :(

ETA: this was an old/long term friend from high school, so I can only imagine it being more awkward for a casual coworker relationship.