Wedding 911
Options

Long-Distance Planning

Hello all! This is my first time posting on the boards, so hopefully I have this thread in the right place...

Does anyone out there have any advice about long-distance planning? 

Our wedding is set for June 2015 in Pennsylvania, but for the last 5 months (and continuing for at least another 3) my fiance and I are living in two different states. It's been difficult to plan anything being so far apart, because we can't visit venues, florists, caterers, etc. or even get a price quote on anything without visiting. That being said, we've been putting off the planning until we're together, but I don't think it's a good idea to wait another 3 (or more) months before booking the venue(s) or other essential vendors.

Is there anything we CAN do, being apart? My fear is that we will wait too long it will be a disaster. I know June weddings are popular so I'd hate to wait longer, miss out, and have to push the date back even further.

Help? 

Re: Long-Distance Planning

• Options
    Honestly you can plan the entire wedding apart, you just need to have really good communication and be able to send pictures and ideas, etc back and forth via email.

Do either of you live in PA?  If you do then you can both look up possible venues that you like and then the one person who lives there can go and look at them, ask questions, and then send any information to the other person.  Discuss and then pick a venue.

Will this be more time consuming?  Sure, but it will help you build your communication skills so that is a plus.

• Options
    I planned our entire wedding while FI and I were long distance and while I lived two states away from where we are getting married. Do you live in PA or near where you are getting married?